Bill forces merger of Bolivar school districts

By Jeff Amy/The Associated Press

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — Some Mississippi senators want to cut the number of school districts in Bolivar County from the current six to either two or three.

Senate Bill 2760 would require the state Board of Education to combine the districts by 2014. The bill is moving to the full Senate after the body’s Education Committee approved it Tuesday.

The county’s six current districts are: Cleveland, Benoit, Mound Bayou, North Bolivar, Shaw and West Bolivar.

Senate Education Chairman Gray Tollison, an Oxford Republican, says mergers would cut administrative costs.

Another bill that’s moving forward would allow the state Board of Education to consolidate or force new elections in failing districts that it takes into conservatorship for a second time

The Senate earlier passed legislation to force Sunflower County’s three districts to merge into one.

Click video to hear audio