Booneville runoff will decide three board seats

BOONEVILLE – Results are final for Tuesday’s Democratic primary in Booneville, after 170 of 176 affidavit ballots were accepted and counted.
The city election commission certified results Wednesday morning, finalizing the candidates for a May 19 runoff.
Mayoral candidate Joe Eaton won the Democratic Party nomination outright, with 1,136 votes (57 percent) to Rhonda Greening’s 853 votes (43 percent).
He will face incumbent Mayor Roger Smith, who was elected as a Republican but is running as an independent, and Republican Ronald “Ron” Kirk in the June 2 general election.
Electing city aldermen for the first time by ward will bring runoffs for all five seats and at least three new faces to the city board. Only the Ward 3 and at-large alderman positions will go to the general election.
Incumbent Bobby Goddard, who had been eleced at large, decided not to seek re-election, while Alderman Mitch Barrett was defeated in the Ward 1 primary.
No incumbents were on the ballot for Wards 2 and 3.
Runoff candidates are:
– Ward 1: Jason Michael and Wilda Pounds; winner faces no general election opponent.
– Ward 2: W. James Chambers and Jeff Williams; winner faces no general election opponent.
– Ward 3: Mark McCoy and Billy H. Whisenant; winner faces independent Gary “Bubba” McCoy in the general election.
– Ward 4: David Bolen and Jerry L. Peeks; winner faces no general election opponent.
– At Large: Harold Eaton, 835; Betty Ann Livingston (i), 716; Groves J. Shinault Sr., 486; winner faces Republican William McDonald.
Contact Lena Mitchell at (662) 287-9822 or


Lena Mitchell/NEMS Daily Journal