Mantachie 13-year-old

dies in motorcycle wreck

n MANTACHIE – Services were planned today for a teenager who died Sunday when the motorcycle he was driving collided with a pickup truck.

Brandon Nicholas Bishop, 13, was killed on Highway 371 North about a mile north of Estes Morrow Road in Itawamba County. The accident was reported at 1:30 p.m.

Trooper Tony Shearer of the Mississippi Highway Safety Patrol said the driver of the pickup, Brandon Guin of Marietta, was on the east side of the highway helping a stranded motorist. A motorcycle being operated by Bishop’s brother passed the vehicles traveling north, Shearer said, but Guin did not see the second motorcycle when he pulled onto the road.

Bishop was wearing a helmet, Shearer said, but was illegally operating a motor vehicle on a Mississippi highway. No charges will be filed against Guin, the trooper said, for failure to yield the right of way.

Grant helps county

hire waste officer

n FULTON – A $13,611 grant from the Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality will help Itawamba County hire a solid waste enforcement officer.

The announcement came Monday from MDEQ.

Solid Waste Assistance Grants are available to local communities for programs to prevent and clean up unauthorized dumps; to aid in hiring local solid waste enforcement officers; for household hazardous waste collection programs; for public education efforts regarding solid waste disposal and recycling; and to establish programs for the collection of white goods, bulky wastes and recyclables.


Columbus woman

elected MSBA leader

n COLUMBUS – Julie Jordan of Columbus is the new president of the Mississippi School Boards Association.

She and a slate of other officers were elected Nov. 13 during the organization’s Delegates Assembly of school board members from across Mississippi.

Three NeMiss residents also were elected to the MSBA board of directors – Bobby Gault of New Albany, Rick Spencer of Pontotoc County and Jamie Earp of Chickasaw County.

Jordan is a Columbus school board member and business owner.

As new president, She will appoint four more members to the board to serve during her one-year term.

Daily Journal reports

Click video to hear audio