Newsmakers May 17, 2009

– Judge Jacqueline E. Mask of Tupelo has been elected as a fellow of the Mississippi Bar Foundation.
Mask is senior chancellor for the First Chancery Court District.
She is a cum laude graduate of Mississippi University for Women and the University of Mississippi School of Law, where she served as index and review editor of the Mississippi Law Journal and the Journal of Space Law.
She was public defender for the City of Tupelo and for Lee County Youth Court. She serves as presiding judge for a Supreme Court complaint tribunal. She has received the Lee County Woman of Achievement Award and Young Career Woman Award.

– Gordon Fellows has been named to the newly created position of strategic marketing manager for Lane Home Furnishings.
In addition to consumer testing, Fellows also will work with the marketing team on competitive research and analysis, strategic accounts and sourcing of import covers and finished products.
Fellows spent two years with Lane in China as an upholstery manager, helping source Lane’s imports.
Fellows is a graduate of the University of Mississippi and began his career with Lane in 2006.
– The following were elected to the Tombigbee River Valley Water Management District’s board of directors: Robert Godfrey, treasurer, representing Lee County; Jerry Keith, vice president, representing Tishomingo County; James A. Chatham, president, representing Itawamba County and Dr. L. J. Goodgame, secretary, representing Monroe County.
– Anna Hughes at The McCarty Company-Design Group, has passed the LEED for Commercial Interiors exam. LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) professional accreditation involves LEED training and testing in the Green Building Rating System Program.
Hughes is a 2001 graduate of NEMCC and a 2003 cum laude graduate of MUW, where she earned a Bachelor of Fine Arts in interior design. She has been with The McCarty Company-Design Group for five years.
– More than 30 government administrators and other professionals are new graduates of the State Executive Development Institute, a management training program for state government employees.
Northeast Mississipip graduates include Matthew E. Dunn, assistant district maintenance engineer for the Mississippi Department of Transportation in Tupelo; Terry Miller, director of human resources for the North Mississippi State Hospital in Tupelo; Kimberly A. Bryant, director of resident living at the North Mississippi Regional Center in Oxford, and Everlean Mathis, director of home- and community-based services at the NMRC in Oxford.
– Melinda Whited was named the Mississippi Department of Corrections’ Employee of the Year.
Whited, who has been employed with MDOC since 2003, is a field officer III in Region One, which includes 33 counties in North Mississippi.
She began her career as a correctional field worker in the Tishomingo Probation and Parole Office.

NEMS Daily Journal

Click video to hear audio