Candidates qualify for Clay, Monroe, Lowndes seat in House

By Patsy R. Brumfield/NEMS Daily Journal

JACKSON – Six candidates qualified today for the March 12 non-party special election to replace the late Rep. David Gibbs.
Gibbs of West Point was a longtime Democratic legislator, who died a few weeks ago in a Tupelo hospital.
The House District 36 seat represents parts of Clay, Lowndes and Monroe counties.
Candidates are Roderick Van Daniel, Jimmy Davidson, Bobbie C. Davis, Karl Gibbs, Eddie Longstreet and Jeannie Johnson Staten.
Additional information about them was not immediately available.
If no candidate receives a majority of votes cast in the special election, a runoff will be held April 2.
Candidates will run without political party affiliation in the special election.

Click video to hear audio