Candidates qualify for school board elections

By Chris Kieffer/NEMS Daily Journal

Friday was the deadline for candidates to qualify for school board elections across Mississippi.
More than 50 candidates did so across Northeast Mississippi’s 16 counties, including five candidates vying to run for two spots on the Lee County School Board.
Incumbent Lisa Roberts will be opposed by Lisha Maxwell, James P. “Jim” Bain and Richard Hill in District 2. Hal Swann will run unopposed in District 1. Incumbent Garry “Bud” Herring will not seek reelection in that District.
Both District 1 and District 2 include Guntown and Saltillo.
One of the most hotly contested elections will be for superintendent of Prentiss County, a special election that was set after former Superintendent Matt Smith resigned earlier this year.
Interim Superintendent Billy D. Stroupe will seek to hold the office, and will be opposed by three other candidates: former Superintendent Kenneth T. Chism, former New Site High School Principal Randle Downs and current Thrasher High School Principal Rivers Stroup.
Candidates running for school board positions include:
* Alcorn County Schools:
District 1: Russ Nash and John Lewis
District 2: Amy Nelms and Peggy Bain.
* Benton County Schools:
District 1: Erma “Sarah” Poplar and Annie Ruth Mason (i)
District 2: Betty Page (i)
* Calhoun County Schools:
District 1: Tony Herrod, Reginald Baskin and Antoinette Goins
District 2: Danny Harrelson (i) and Velvet Tillman
* Chickasaw County Schools:
District 1: Ruby Hollin (i)
District 2: James “Jamie” Howard Earp (i)
* Clay County Schools:
District 1: Julie Harpole (i)
District 2: Annie G. Johnson (i)
* Itawamba County Schools:
District 1: Tammy Palmer, Trelvy Petty and Eddie Hood (i)
District 2: Jackie Nichols (i) and Wes Pitts
* Lafayette County Schools:
District 1: Johnny Parker (i)
District 2: Bob Colston (i)
* Lee County Schools
District 1: Hal Swann
District 2: Lisa Roberts (i), Lisha Maxwell, James P. “Jim” Bain and Richard Hill
* Marshall County Schools:
District 1: Terry Rodgers (i) and Mark Turner
District 2: Raymond Spight and Harvey L. Garrison (i)
* Monroe County Schools:
District 1: Butch Palmer
District 2: Michael “Mickey” Miller (i)
* Nettleton Schools:
District 4: Rhonda Baulch-Patterson (i)
* Oktibbeha County Schools:
District 2: Marvin Williams and Curtis Snell Sr. (i)
At large: Melvin Harris and Yvette Rice (i)
* An additional person registered but their information was not available late Friday afternoon.
* Pontotoc County Schools
District 1: Rick Spencer (i) and Danny Robbins
District 2: Rodney Robbins (i)
* Prentiss County Schools:
District 1: Jason McCoy, Perry Walden (i) and Jimmy Wayne Russell
District 2: Rickie Davis (i), Richard Tollison, Shelia Johnson and Claude “Kermit” Keenum
Superintendent: Billy D. Stroupe (i), Kenneth T. Chism, Randle Downs and Rivers Stroup
* Tishomingo County Schools:
District 2: Anthony L. Whirley (i) and Jeff Allred
* Tippah County Schools:
Information not available for North Tippah and South Tippah School Districts
* Union County Schools
District 1: Terry Cook (i)
District 2: Mickey Basil and Gary Gray (i)
Contact Chris Kieffer at (662) 678-1590 or Lena Mitchell and Errol Castens also contributed to this story.

Click video to hear audio