Carr will return to Justice Court; three incumbent constables assured re-election

By Cain Madden/NEMS Daily Journal

TUPELO – Incumbent District 1 Justice Court Judge Pat Carr will be banging the gavel again for his district.
Carr took 70 percent of the Republican primary vote Tuesday to win another term over opponents Chris Bauer and Grady Guntharp. Carr has no general election opposition.
For Justice Court Judge District 2, Democrat Clifton “Cliff” Hardy will run against Republican incumbent John Hoyt Sheffield. Sheffield had no primary contenders. Hardy received 50.6 percent of the vote to narrowly defeat Cliff Gannon in complete but unofficial results.
Incumbent Judge Sadie Holland easily won renomination in District 3 with 74 percent of the Democratic primary vote against Melinda Wells. Republican William Wayne Housley Jr., who ran unopposed in the primary, will face Holland in the general election.
Democratic incumbent Rickey W. Thompson in Justice Court District 4 has no primary or general election opponents.
District 1 Republican constable candidates Joe Huckaby, 43.44 percent, and incumbent Scotty Clark, 32.91 percent, will be involved in an Aug. 23 runoff election. Democrat Jerry Duffie received 23.63 percent of the primary vote. In the Democratic primary, Mark Ratliff received 75 percent of the vote to defeat Greg Rodgers.
Meanwhile, two constable incumbents – District 2 Republican Ted Wood and District 3 Democrat Phil Gann – won another term since they have no opposition in the other party.
Wood received 54.42 percent of the Republican primary vote, defeating David Hunt, Harvey Mitchell and Michael Paul Anglin.
Gann received 75.19 percent of the vote in District 3 constable,defeating challenger Reginald Adams.
District 4 Democratic incumbent Tom Henry “Punnie” Lyles had no primary challengers and will run unopposed in the general election.

Click video to hear audio