Club to sponsor its 22nd annual show

Aberdeen Antique and Classic Car Club will sponsor its 22nd Annual Car Show on April 4, 2009.
Classes are available for all vehicles. Entry fee is $20 for the first vehicle and $15 for the second. Spectators are welcome, and entry is free. Arts and Crafts and Car-related Flea Market spaces are free.
The show will be open from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m., with trophies being given around 3:30. There will be dash plaques, class trophies, door prizes, special trophies and a 50-50 pot. Concessions will be available.
On April 9, 1988, the Aberdeen Antique and Classic Car Club sponsored its first car show on College Place in Aberdeen. The new year the show was moved to the Monroe County Courthouse, where it is still held.
In addition to the shows in April of each year, the Aberdeen club sponsored two shows at the Outdoor Fest in September 1990 and 1992, and at the Blue Bluff River Festival on October 11, 1997. On October 11, 2008, the Aberdeen club hosted a car display and cruise at the Blue Bluff Festival. In the 1990s, the Aberdeen club hosted the car shows at the Amory Railroad Festival, which are now hosted by the Tenn-Tom Cruisers of Amory.
On October 15, 1987, an organizational meeting was held to form the car club. The first officers and committees were elected on October 22, 1987. The club was organized as a nonprofit organization with the purpose being to restore and preserve cars, to sponsor car shows and other recreational activities, and to buy and sell private property. The first president was Leroy Jones. The first secretary was Wanda Duncan, and she still holds that office. Gene Williams has served as treasurer for most of these years. Charter members who are still members are the following: Donald and Fay Dahlem, Wanda Duncan, Leroy and Sandy Jones, Stanley and Billie Moffett, Gene and Colleen Williams. Officers for this year are the following: Jerry Mize, president; Donald Dahlem, vice-president; Wanda Duncan, secretary; and Robert E. Williams Sr., treasurer.
Special trophies
Nine special trophies are given each year. Six of these are in memory of deceased club members who were instrumental in the survival of the club through the years. They are the following: Kenneth Duncan Memorial Award, GM Vehicle; Ben Bender Memorial Award, Best of Show Original; Mac Lann Memorial Award, Club Ladies’ Choice; Armon Lee Memorial Award, Oldest Original Car; Bobby Brown and Family Memorial Award, Best Engine; and Adam Carlisle Memorial Award, Club Choice.

Barbara Harrington

Click video to hear audio