Corinth elects a new mayor

By Lena Mitchell/NEMS Daily Journal

CORINTH – A count of about 550 absentee, affidavit and curbside votes that continued at Corinth city hall late into the night Tuesday would not change the outcome of unofficial machine vote totals announced earlier, in which the city elected a new mayor and gave the police chief a second full term.
Political newcomer Tommy Irwin received 1,974 votes to four-term incumbent Mayor Jerry Latch’s 854 votes in totals announced about an hour after polls closed.
Police Chief David Lancaster received votes totaling 2,273, while challenger Chip Timbes received 531 votes.
Two other offices could be decided after absentee and other ballots are counted in the at large and Ward 4 alderman elections.
Unofficial totals from the machines showed in the at large alderman election that incumbent Mike Hopkins received 1,256 votes, Jennifer Saffore McCoy received 620 votes and Barry Richards received 788 votes.
The three-way Ward 4 alderman election was led by incumbent Steve Hill with 205 votes, followed by J.C. Hill with 164 votes and Milus Copeland with 56 votes.
In other races that will go to a general election on Oct. 12, candidates who will face opposition from the other party were too close to call.
Ward 1 had three Republican candidates in the primary, with Charlotte Doehner receiving 17 votes, Mike Green 27 votes and Andrew “Bubba” Labas 42 votes, with the winner meeting Democrat Kendall Steen in the general election.
In Ward 2 Democratic challenger Preston Biggers Knight led with 471 votes to incumbent William “Bill” Plaxico’s 355 votes, and one of them will face Republican Bill Albaraccin in the general election.
In Ward 5 challenger Michael McFall led with 239 votes to incumbent David Roberts’ 227 votes. The winner meets Republican Brandon Whitley in the general election.

Contact Lena Mitchell at 287-9822 or

Click video to hear audio