DeBerry, Faulkner in House District 5 runoff

Election StockBy Errol Castens

Daily Journal

HOLLY SPRINGS – The Mississippi House of Representatives District 5 seat vacated by Kelvin Buck after he was elected mayor of Holly Springs will be determined in a Nov. 26 runoff. District 5 covers most of Marshall County and part of Benton County.

Andre R. DeBerry, who lost the mayor’s office to Buck, was the leading candidate for Buck’s former post with 959 votes, and John Gary Faulkner followed with 587 votes.

Other candidates’ totals are as follows:

Daylon Cannon 324

Arthur “Clyde” Ellzey 109

Lee Edward Gill 127

Jacqueline Simon 83

Robert Earl Young 321

Click video to hear audio