Disaster center opens in Lafayette County

By The Associated Press

JACKSON — A disaster recovery center operated by the state of Mississippi and the Federal Emergency Management Agency has opened in Lafayette County to help people and businesses affected by the severe weather of April 15-28.

It is located at Anchor Baptist Church on Mississippi Highway 7 South in Water Valley, according to the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency.

Counties currently designated for assistance to individuals are: Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clarke, Greene, Hinds, Jasper, Kemper, Lafayette, Monroe, Neshoba and Webster.

Other disaster centers are:

— Golden Keys Community Center at 3450 Albermarle Road in Jackson.

— Clinton Public Works Facilities at 527 Spring Ridge Road in Clinton.

— Leakesville Community Center at 1627 Center Street in Leakesville.

— Houston Civic Center at 635 Starkville Road in Houston.

— Monroe County at the intersection of Mississippi Highways 23 and 25 in Smithville.

— Enterprise Town Hall at 500 S. River Road in Enterprise.

— Mathiston Public Library at 298 Scott Street in Mathiston.

— Kemper County Sheriff Department at 330 Stennis Industrial Road in DeKalb.

Click video to hear audio