Disaster declared for five counties

WASHINGTON – Five counties in north Mississippi have been declared natural disaster areas because of storms and flooding between April 30 and May 3.
Receiving the designation, which makes farmers eligible for assistance from the U.S. Department of Agriculture Alcorn, Benton, Marshall, Tippah and Quitman counties.
Farmers and ranchers in the following counties also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous to the five: Coahoma, Lafayette, Prentiss, Tate, Tunica, DeSoto, Panola, Tallahatchie, Tishomingo ad Union.
All qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low-interest emergency loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency.

NEMS Daily Journal

Click video to hear audio