Do you know where to vote in Lee County?

By Patsy R. Brumfield/NEMS Daily Journal

TUPELO – Nearly 30,000 Lee County voters in 14 precincts soon will get notice of how supervisor redistricting may change where they vote.
The change will be in effect starting with the Nov. 6 presidential election.
Circuit Clerk Joyce Loftin said Wednesday her office has been working steadily to realign voters with voting places ever since August when notice was received that the U.S. Department of Justice approved the Lee County redistricting for the five supervisor districts.
Federal law requires political redistricting every 10 years to equalize population changes.
Loftin said it’s been hectic putting everything in place, especially when notice came just three weeks before absentee voting began. “Some voters have been placed in new precincts,” she said, noting that some precincts have changed and/or moved.
Lee voting precincts affected by redistricting – Eggville, Auburn, Belden, Bissell, Tupelo-2, Tupelo-3, Tupelo-4 North, Tupelo-4 South, Palmetto, Tupelo-5, Verona and Shannon. Flowerdale, Mooreville 1 and Gilvo 1 have closed and are worked into other precincts. Blair and Corrona precincts are renamed Cedar Hill.
Affected voters will receive new yellow voter registration cards within the next two weeks inside envelopes on which is printed “Notice From the Lee County Circuit Clerk’s Office.”
The card will show where the voter now should vote.
Loftin also said the new yellow registration cards will be used for new voter registrants or those with changed addresses.
Fourteen out of Lee County’s 38 precincts are affected in the redistricting, she added, but not everyone living in each of those precincts will see a change.
Pollworker training to prepare for the upcoming election is set for Thursday, Nov. 1, at 6 p.m. in the Lee County Justice Center’s second-floor courtroom.

Click video to hear audio