Education Briefs Jan. 2, 2011

By NEMS Daily Journal

MSU food science major selected for state honor
STARKVILLE – A Nigeria native studying at Mississippi State University is receiving the inaugural honor from a new education consortium working to make Mississippi a premier destination for international students.
Ademola Oladunjoye of Starkville was named the 2011 StudyMississippi International Student of the Year. Oladunjoye is a student in the university’s food science microbiology graduate program.
Oladunjoye, a 2009 Mississippi State poultry science graduate, came to Starkville as part of an agreement between the university and the Federal College of Animal Health and Production Technology in Nigeria.
While on the Starkville campus, he has served as the Student Association’s director for international students, as well as president and vice president of the African Student Association.

ICC automotive technology program receives accreditation
FULTON – Itawamba Community College’s automotive technology program has been awarded full accreditation through the National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation. The foundation is a division of the Automotive Service Excellence certification organization.
All eight areas met the strict industry standards required for NATEF Master Accreditation of the program, according to William A. Kersten, NATEF president.
The master accreditation is the highest level of achievement recognized by the NATEF. The accreditation process begins with an extensive self-evaluation performed by training program instructors, administrators and advisory committee members, who compare the program to national standards.

North Pontotoc students recognized at Mississippi State
STARKVILLE – Students from North Pontotoc Elementary School joined those from L.C. Hatcher Elementary School in George County as winners of an art competition in conjunction with Mississippi State University’s Maroon Edition First-Year Reading Experience.
University President Mark E. Keenum and first lady Rhonda Keenum recently served as hosts for the two schools during a recognition program at the President’s Home on campus.
For the first time this year, coordinators used the 4-H program to expand the reading program to third- to fifth-graders around the state. The artwork was collected and judged by retired Starkville Public Schools art teacher Jane Gair.
At North Pontotoc, winners were Riley Mitchell, fifth place, and Alexis Nicole Herring, honorable mention.

UM School of Pharmacy honored for community service
OXFORD – For its life-changing work in 12 Delta communities, the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy has won the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy’s 2011-12 Lawrence C. Weaver Transformative Community Service Award.
AACP presents the award annually to one pharmacy school that not only demonstrates a major commitment to addressing unmet community needs through education, practice and research, but also serves as an example of social responsiveness for others.
AACP’s selection committee was impressed by the school’s many community-based initiatives that are providing innovative pharmacy, disease education and other services in 11 counties of the impoverished region.

Click video to hear audio