ELECTION RESULTS: Offices decided in Tuesday voting

Randle Downs was chosen Prentiss County school superintendent while Lee S. Coleman was elected to a newly created court seat in Tuesday’s most notable runoffs in Northeast Mississippi.

In the area’s other runoff, Scotty Clark was chosen Lee County constable for District 1.

The three runoffs came after the Nov. 2 general election produced no majority winner for the three positions.

In Prentiss County unofficial results, Randle Downs is the apparent winner of the superintendent’s race, garnering more than 60 percent of the vote. Downs, a retired principal of New Site High School, defeated former superintendent Kenneth Chism 1,346 votes to 823 votes.

The superintendent’s runoff was the only election on the ballot, and plans are to hold the swearing-in for Downs at 11 a.m. today after the election commission certifies the results.

In the judicial race, Coleman received 8,899 votes, or 55 percent. Nebra Porter received 7,329 votes, or 45 percent. In voting on Nov. 2, Coleman received 39.5 percent of the vote, ahead of Porter, who earned 31.6 percent. Both are West Point attorneys, and he is a former legislator. They were running for a newly created third seat in the district.

In Lee County’s constable’s race, Clark received 991 votes, or 55 percent, and Joe Huckaby earned 812, or 45 percent. Clark will fill the unexpired term of Bobby Joyner, who died in office last year. His widow, Flossie Joyner, served as the interim constable.

Clark is an assistant police chief with the Saltillo Police Department and Huckaby is a Saltillo day care owner.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

5 judicial races decided in Miss.

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — Collins attorney David Shoemake defeated veteran Chancery Judge Larry Buffington on Tuesday in a runoff election for a south Mississippi judgeship.

Buffington had been on the bench for 16 years in the 13th Chancery District comprised of Covington, Jefferson Davis, Lawrence, Simpson and Smith counties.

There were five judicial races to be decided Tuesday.

In a south Mississippi runoff, Sumrall attorney Dawn Beam defeated Columbia attorney Scott Phillips to become a chancery judge in District 10, which includes Forrest, Lamar, Marion, Pearl River and Perry counties.

Beam succeeds Judge Sebe Dale Jr. of Columbia, who did not seek re-election after 32 years on the bench.

In the 13th Circuit District, Eddie Bowen, who was appointed by Gov. Haley Barbour after the death of Circuit Judge Robert Evans in July, defeated Collins lawyer Wilton McNair.

Covington, Jasper, Simpson and Smith counties make up the 13th Circuit District.

In a northwest Mississippi, Hernando lawyer Gerald W. Chatham defeated Stan Little for a new judgeship in five counties — DeSoto, Tate, Panola, Tallahatchie and Yalobusha.

In north Mississippi, West Point attorney Lee S. Coleman defeated Nebra Porter to win a new judgeship in the 16th Circuit District. The four counties in the district are Lowndes, Clay, Oktibbeha and Noxubee.

Read more about these races in Wednesday’s NEMS Daily Journal newspaper.

NEMS Daily Journal

Click video to hear audio