Morgan, Williams claim board spots
– OXFORD – Democrat John Morgan and Republican Ney Williams were declared winners in their Board of Aldermen races after affidavit ballots were counted Wednesday.
The races ended too close to call after Tuesday’s voting. After more than 30 affidavit ballots were certified, Morgan nosed out four-term incumbent Republican William “Bill” Baker for the alderman-at-large position by 1,359 votes to 1,329.
Williams led Democrat N. Sans Russell 315 to 308 to take over the Ward 1 Alderman seat being vacated by Mayor-Elect Pat Patterson.
Carroll, Nixon, Gray,
Cole win mayor races
– The following candidates were elected in Tuesday’s general election. Results were too late for Wednesday’s Daily Journal.
Ashland: Mayor, Mitch Carroll (i); Aldermen, Sandra Gresham, Bobby Huddleston, Brian Jeanes, Billy J. Taylor, Shannon Wilburn
Burnsville: Mayor, David Nixon; Aldermen, J.R. Blakney, Robert Davis (i), Brad Forsythe (i), Billy Don Hamm (i), Randy Walker
Okolona: Mayor, Louise Cole; Ward 3 council, Eldridge Lowe; Ward 6 council, Anthony Floyd (i)
Hickory Flat: Mayor, Allen Gray (i); Aldermen, Chris Gray, James Gray, Margie Gray, Chris Simpson, Carrol Taylor.

‘Biggest turnout’ seen in Saltillo
– SALTILLO – Nearly half of Saltillo’s registered voters turned out for Tuesday’s general election.
“This is the biggest turnout I can recall for any election in Saltillo,” said Mayor Bill Williams, who won re-election to a second term in a hotly contest race. Five Board of Aldermen seats also were decided.
Out of the 2,890 registered voters in Saltillo, 1,402 cast ballots in Tuesday’s election. The 49 percent turnout compares to 32 percent turnout four years ago when Williams was first elected. Tupelo had a little more than a quarter of its 25,000 registered voters turn out.

Johnson returns as Jackson leader
– JACKSON – Mayor Harvey Johnson Jr., who led the capital city for two terms, has reclaimed the office. The Democrat won more than 85 percent of the vote among six candidates Tuesday.
Elsewhere, Democrat Paul Winfield defeated two-term incumbent Mayor Laurence Leyens to become Vicksburg’s second black mayor.
In Meridian, Republican Cheri Barry defeated Democrat Percy Bland to become the first woman to hold the city’s top spot.
Mayor John Robert Smith did not seek re-election.
On the Coast, retired banker George Schloegel, a Republican, defeated Clyde Williams, a Democrat, for mayor of Gulfport.
Incumbent Brent Warr dropped out of the campaign after being indicted on federal charges of lying on a hurricane relief application.
In Biloxi, Republican Mayor A.J. Holloway won his fifth term.

NEMS Daily Journal

Click video to hear audio