Four mayoral runoffs in region today

By NEMS Daily Journal

Voters in Amory, Baldwyn and Shannon will choose mayors and Booneville will narrow its mayoral field for the general election in party primary runoffs today.
They are among 11 Northeast Mississippi municipalities holding runoffs. Tupelo is not one of them; the two-man mayor’s race will be decided in the June 4 general election.
Polls open at 7 p.m. and close at 7 p.m.
In Amory, political newcomer Brad Blalock led a three-man field in the May 7 first primary and will face former Mayor Thomas Griffith in today’s Democratic primary runoff. Incumbent Howard Boozer didn’t seek re-election.
The Amory runoff winner will assume office with no general election opposition.
In Baldwyn, first primary leaders Michael James, the incumbent, and challenger Roslynn Clark Copeland will face off. The winner will have no general election opposition.
In Shannon, where incumbent Ronnie Hallmark led in the first primary and faces a runoff with challenger and former Mayor Bill Curtis, the Democratic primary winner will also take office without a general election opponent.
The story is different in Booneville, where the winner of the Democratic primary runoff between incumbent Joe Eaton and challenger Derrick Blythe will face Republican nominee Lindell “Lin” Floyd in the June 4 general election.
Other Northeast Mississippi runoffs today, all in Democratic primaries, include:
• Amory – Alderman at large, Sylvia Roberts Patterson vs. Tyrone James.
• Baldwyn – Police chief, Troy Agnew vs. Don Rowan; Alderman Ward 1, Steve Scales vs. Lee Bowdry.
• Booneville – AldermanWard 1, Lee Bethay vs. Jason Michael; Alderman at large, Mitch Barrett vs. Harold Eaton.
• Holly Springs – Alderman at large, Johnnie Bagley-Johnson vs. Tim Liddy; Alderman Ward 2, Sharon D. Gipson vs. Lennel “Big Luke” Lucas; Alderman Ward 4, Christy Owens vs. Harvey Payne Sr.
• Nettleton – Alderman Ward 2, Gail Senter vs. G.C. Rhudy; Alderman Ward 3 , Iry L. Gladney vs. Marty Langley.
• New Albany – Alderman Ward 3, Larry Dykes vs. Kevin Dale White.
• Okolona – Alderman Ward 4, Imogene Armstrong vs. Regina Pickens.
• Pontotoc – Alderman at large, David White vs. Phyllis High.
• Ripley – Alderman at large, Shane Bourg vs. Jon Grisham.
• Shannon – Alderman Ward 3, James Oswalt vs. Jack Ivy.
• West Point – Selectman Ward 3, Jimmy Clark vs. Charles B. Collins.

Click video to hear audio