HED: Corinth, Alcorn vote to leave landfill group

CATEGORY: Alcorn County


HED: Corinth, Alcorn vote to leave landfill group

By Jane Clark Summers

Daily Journal Corinth Bureau

CORINTH – The governing boards of Corinth and Alcorn County took steps this week to drop out of the Northeast Mississippi Regional Solid Waste Management Authority.

Corinth and Alcorn County representatives on the authority, Lex Mitchell and Ely Mitchell, said earlier this month that the major reason for withdrawing was that the city and county can get a better deal with a private waste management firm.

The Corinth Board of Aldermen adopted a resolution Tuesday night asking to be released from the authority. The Alcorn County Board of Supervisors adopted a similar resolution Wednesday.

The resolutions also call for deleting the voting strength of the withdrawing members.

Each entity’s voting strength is based on the amount of projected solid waste flow from individual cities and counties.

The withdrawals must be approved by a two-thirds majority of the governing boards of the original membership of the authority, which includes the counties of Alcorn, Benton, Marshall, Prentiss, Tippah and Tishomingo and the cities of Corinth, Ashland, Holly Springs, Booneville, Ripley and Iuka.

At the January meeting, the authority agreed to release those cities and counties wanting out without obligation to pay off the note on a 288-acre tract acquired for the regional landfill.

The authority acquired the land two miles west of Walnut for $600 per acre.

Iuka and Tishomingo County also have indicated a desire to pull out of the regional authority.

Tippah County board President Dennis Grisham has said he believes the remaining cities and counties can still proceed with construction and operation of the landfill.

A private contractor has been retained to operate the facility and the Rural Development Office of the U.S. Department of Agriculture has agreed to provide a loan to help construct the landfill, Grisham said.

The authority also has a $500,000 grant.

Click video to hear audio