Hed: Only one incumbent left after Aberdeen runoff

Hed: Only one incumbent left after Aberdeen runoff

By Eileen Bailey

Daily Journal

ABERDEEN – Only one incumbent will return the Aberdeen Board of Aldermen after the May 7 general election.

In Tuesday’s runoff, the two remaining incumbents lost their bids for reelection.

In Ward 4, James “Eddie” Arnold lost to political newcomer Dee Riley by a vote of 316-179.

Riley said he believes the key to his win was going door-to-door and meeting with residents. “I’m happy. I had a lot of good folks behind me,” he said. “This has been fun and a learning experience.”

The Ward 4 race was one of the most watched in Aberdeen. In the April 2 primary Arnold and Riley edged out three other candidates, including current Mayor Don Brasfield. Brasfield had dropped out of the mayor’s race and decided to run for the Ward 4 seat.

Another incumbent losing his reelection bid was longtime Ward 3 Alderman Bob Patterson, who received 179 votes Tuesday to challenger Willie A. Cook’s 209. Patterson has served as Ward 3 alderman since 1964, except for two terms.

In Ward 2, two residents vied for the post currently being held by Mary Elizabeth Hamilton, who declined to run for another term. Taking the Ward 2 race was Cloyd Garth with 180 votes to Tom Allmond’s 178 votes.

Vote totals will be certified by the Municipal Democratic Executive Committee at 5 p.m. Thursday at City Hall.

The Ward 5 and Ward 1 races were decided in the April 2 primary. In Ward 5, Kelly Tucker defeated incumbent Madies Conner and candidate Edward Haynes Jr.

The only incumbent to be reelected was Ward 1 Alderman Wilchie Clay. Clay was reelected with 219 votes over Alzonzo Sykes, who received 158 votes.

The only race left to be decided is that for mayor. Republican Bob Seymour will face Democrat William “Tizzy” Tisdale on May 7.

The aldermen and new mayor will take office in May.

Click video to hear audio