Houston, Okolona have competitive races Tuesday

By Floyd Ingram/Chickasaw Journal

CHICKASAW COUNTY – With just a few days to go before Tuesday’s municipal elections in Houston and Okolona, candidates for city offices are busy soliciting votes.
Voters in both municipalities will cast a ballot for mayor and city marshal and for the alderman or city councilman for the ward where they live. Houston has an at-large-alderman and all voters there can cast a ballot in that race if they choose to vote in the Democratic primary.
The general election pitting Republican and Democratic nominees is June 4.
Okolona City Clerk Kim Collins said all candidates in Okolona are running as Democrats, and the May 7 primary will decide all races there.
All voters in Houston will cast a ballot at the Chickasaw Development Foundation on Starkville Road. All residents of Okolona will vote at the Rockwell Auditorium on Main Street.
In both Houlka and Woodland, only one person ran for mayor and only five people ran for aldermen making all town races unopposed. Woodland and Houlka city officials were also up for re-election this year but there are no contested races and state law says – as a cost- saving measure – elections are not required.
City races in Okolona have 18 people seeking eight spots, and in Houston 13 people have thrown their hat in the ring for seven offices.
In Okolona, all candidates have filed as Democrats, and Houston has four people declaring for the Republican Party. In Houlka and Woodland, all candidates filed as independents.
Candidates who have qualified in Houston, their position, political party, name and if they are an incumbent (i) are:
• Mayor – Democrat Stacey W. Parker (i), Democrat Terry Taylor.
• District 1 Alderman – Republican Raymond A. “Tony” Uhiren (i), Democrat, Bobby G. Mooneyham.
• District 2 Alderman – Democrat Shenia Kirby Jones (i).
• District 3 Alderman – Republican Frank Thomas (i), Republican Richard Cooper, Democrat Patricia Burgess Southerland.
• District 4 Alderman – Democrat Willie Gates McKinney (i)
• Alderman at Large – Democrat Barry Springer (i), Democrat Amy Simmons Gardner.
• City Marshal – Democrat Billy Voyles (i), Democrat Robert “Preacher” Ivy.
Candidates who have qualified in Okolona, their position, political party, name and if they are an incumbent (i) are:
• Ward 1 Alderman – Democrat Kenneth McVey (i), Democrat Leander Lee Wilson.
• Ward 2 Alderman – Democrat Bennett Moore (i), Democrat Judy T. Nichols.
• Ward 3 Alderman – Democrat Eldridge Lowe (i).
• Ward 4 Alderman – Democrat Imogene Armstrong (i), Democrat Regina Pickens, Democrat Jarvis Brumby, Democrat Teresa M. Price, Democrat Robert E. Shinn.
• Ward 5 Alderman – Democrat Mary L. Gates, Democrat Robert Matt Hughes (i), Democrat Tameka Gates.
• Ward 6 Alderman – Democrat Anthony Floyd (i).
• Mayor – Democrat Louise Floyd Cole (i), Democrat Sherman R. Carouthers.
• City Marshal – Democrat Tommie James Ivy (i), Democrat Willie C. Moore, Jr.

Click video to hear audio