Individual assistance available in 4 counties

By The Associated Press

GULFPORT, Miss. (AP) — State officials say 4,325 people in four Mississippi counties have registered for federal individual assistance in the wake of Hurricane Isaac.

Residents of Hancock, Harrison, Jackson and Pearl River counties are eligible for temporary housing aid, grants for serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance and low-interest disaster loans from the Small Business Administration.

Emergency food stamp aid will be available for residents in the four counties.

A disaster declaration was initially issued on Aug. 29 and included public assistance for 48 counties and the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians, which experienced damage or losses from Hurricane Isaac. Individual Assistance was added to the disaster declaration on Saturday.

Click video to hear audio