James unseats Horton to become Baldwyn mayor

The city of Baldwyn will have a new mayor for the next four years.
Incumbent Danny Horton lost in Tuesday night’s Democratic primary to Michael James, owner of Southern Auto Sales.
James received 679 votes to 532 for Horton, who was elected four years ago.
Because 135 affidavit ballots and 67 absentee ballots have yet to be counted, the win totals are unofficial. But Horton said it would be nearly impossible for him to overcome the 147-vote deficit even with the uncounted votes.
“I’ve been happy to serve my community,” said a disappointed Horton. “These past four years have been some of the best years of my life. I love the people of Baldwyn and did the best job I could for them. I wish the new board and mayor luck with their term.”
James, who has no opposition in the general election, did not immediately return messages left by the Daily Journal.
In the aldermen’s races, Ward 1 incumbent Lee Bowdry lost to Virginia Grice, and Alderman at Large Steven Scales fell to Jason McKay.
Tom Nelson beat Christi Webb for the Ward 2 seat and Richard Kohlheim retained his Ward 3 seat by beating Barbara Lee.
Ward 4 will be decided in a runoff in two weeks between incumbent Tammie Waters and Ricky Massengil.
Incumbent Police Chief Troy Agnew will compete in a runoff against Don Rowan.
NETTLETON: Mayor R.V. Adams was unopposed, but three of the five aldermen were unseated.
In Ward 1, incumbent Ann Harris was defeated by Charles Morris. Ward 2 incumbent Chris Patterson lost his seat to Doug Brown and in Ward 4, Larry Guess unseated Jimmy Moore.
In Ward 3, incumbent Willie Bob Brandon won against Marty Langley. Kirk Lindsey, the incumbent alderman at large, was unopposed.
None of the winners has opposition in the general election.
SHANNON: Mayor Ronnie Hallmark beat out former Alderman Jimmy Rutherford in Tuesday’s Democratic primary and will face independent candidate Lee Hersey in the June 2 general election.
In the town’s first election using a ward system, Alderman at Large Judy Johnson lost her seat to Carl Trice. Ward 1 elected its first alderman in Bryant Thompson. In Ward 2, incumbent Debra Grubbs defeated Lucy Blair and will face independent Rebecca McCarley in the general election.
Ward 4 will have to wait a couple of weeks for a runoff to decide the winner between Jack Ivy and Paul Lyles.
SALTILLO: Voters nominated five Democrats and five Republicans for the Board of Aldermen positions.
Democratic nominees for the June 2 election are Beverly Bedford, Bill Cherry, Terry Glidewell, David May and Jewell Webb.
Republican nominees are Mitchell Brazel, Mike Golebiewski, Scott Knight, Renee Smith and Brad Woodcock.
Three candidates for mayor did not have opposition in the primary and move on to the general election June 2. Bill Williams, a Republican, got 331 votes, and Paul Turner, a Democrat, got 423 votes Tuesday. Williams, Turner and Russell Board, an Independent, are vying for the mayor’s job.

Danza Johnson/NEMS Daily Journal

Click video to hear audio