Journal/ win multiple awards

NATCHEZ – The Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal dominated its circulation category in awards presented Saturday during the annual meeting of the Louisiana-Mississippi Associated Press Managing Editors. Winners were announced in the writing, photo and digital contest for news stories, editorials, photos, graphics and headlines published during 2010 in Louisiana and Mississippi AP member newspapers.
The Daily Journal’s website,, won first place, and the Journal swept the field in several categories.
A complete list of Journal awards in each category follows:
– Spot News: First place – Sheena Barnett, Danza Johnson, Errol Castens “Storm Coverage;” second place – Emily LeCoz, Dennis Seid, Carlie Kollath, Errol Castens “Toyota’s When Is Now.”
– General News: First place – Patsy Brumfield “Zach Scruggs claims new evidence clears him;” second place – Emily LeCoz “Hall’s return fell short of unity goal; third place – Chris Kieffer “Schools in a squeeze.”
– Features: First place – Galen Holley ” Not really death;” second place – M. Scott Morris “From Weedy’s Room: After two years, a mother lets go a little.”
– Business: Second place – Dennis Seid “Have a bigger seat.”
– Continuing Coverage: First place – Chris Kieffer “Constance McMillen;” second place – Emily LeCoz, Danza Johnson “Robert Hall.”
n Public/Community Service: First place – Danza Johnson, Lena Mitchell “Domestic violence isn’t going away;” third place – Chris Kieffer “A struggling school undergoes a remake.”
– Investigative: Third place – Patsy Brumfield, Bobby Pepper “The Pony’s Prance.”
– Editorials: Third place – Lloyd Gray “Open, then shut.”
– Personal Columns: First place – Leslie Criss “Choose words with caution and care in case they linger;” second place – Galen Holley “Trying to imagine the last day of Bigfoot’s life.”
– Spot Sports: First place – Parrish Alford “2-OT Stunner: In control in first half, Rebels can’t seal deal at home;” second place – Brad Locke “Stricklin named new MSU athletics director;” third place – Gene Phelps “Ingomar wins Class 1A title.”
– Sports Enterprise/Feature: Second place – Brad Locke, Parrish Alford “Big Bucks;” third place – Parrish Alford “Former Tupelo, Ole Miss pitcher battling through shoulder rehab.”
– Sports Columns: Second place – Parrish Alford “Masoli, Rebels will give it the ole college try;” third place – Brad Locke “Stansbury gives voice to pain of players, fans.”
– Headlines: Second place – John Pitts “Rhythm arrives, the blues depart.
– Layout and Design: Third place – Judy Putt
– Spot News Photo: First place – Thomas Wells “Asland;” second place – C. Todd Sherman “Church Fire;” third place – Thomas Wells “Clean up.”
– Sports Action Photo: First place – Deste Lee “Not tackling me.”
– Sports Feature Photo: Second place – C. Todd Sherman “Congrats;” third place – Deste Lee “He’s Down.”
– Feature Photo: Third place – Thomas Wells “Getting some air.”
– Illustration: First place – C. Todd Sherman “Bullying;” second place – Thomas Wells “resolutions;” third place – C.Todd Sherman “Heart Health.”
– Multipicture: First place – Deste Lee, C. Todd Sherman “Elvis Festival.”
– Portrait/Personality: First place – Thomas Wells “Small School Player;” second – Thomas Wells “Making a comeback.”
– Online Package: Second place – Michael Duran, Todd Vinyard, Shane Castile, Staff “2010 Election Primary and General Election;” third place – Carlie Kollath “Blog ‘Gallery.'”
– Best blog: Second place – Parrish Alford “Inside Ole Miss Sports Blog – Hard decision for Nutt;” third place – Brad Locke “Inside Mississippi State Sports Blog – Bell’s Decline was Rapid.”

The Associated Press

Click video to hear audio