Lee County municipalities swearing in elected officials

By JB Clark/NEMS Daily Journal

LEE COUNTY – Municipal candidates elected earlier this month will officially take office or begin a new term next week.
The occasion will be marked with the candidates being sworn in, in their respective municipality.
The oath, which is required by the Mississippi Code of 1972 as well as the state’s constitution, charges elected officials with upholding the United States and Mississippi Constitution while discharging the duties of the office they have been elected to.
The oaths of office will be administered in Lee County municipalities at the following dates and times:
Nettleton – 2 p.m. on Thursday at Nettleton Town Hall.
Guntown – 6 p.m. on Friday at Guntown Town Hall
Saltillo – 5:30 p.m. on Saturday in the community room of Saltillo City Hall.
Plantersville – 2 p.m. on Sunday at Plantersville Town Hall
Verona – 2 p.m. on Sunday at Verona City Hall.
Shannon – 10 a.m. on July 1 at Shannon Town Hall.
Baldwyn – 5 p.m. on July 1 in the Baldwyn High School auditorium.
Tupelo – 5:30 p.m. on July 1 at Lawhon Elementary School.
Sherman – 7 p.m. on July 2 at Sherman Town Hall.

Click video to hear audio