Lee supervisors elect Rankin as president

I'm a journalist focused on government, policy, politics and people.
I find what matters and bird dog it like nobody's business.



TUPELO – The Lee County Board of Supervisors unanimously selected a new president and vice president Monday.

District 2 Supervisor Bobby Smith resigned as board president at the beginning of the meeting, the first of 2014. Then the five-member body voted to approve vice president Darrell Rankin, District 3 supervisor, as president. Tommie Lee Ivy of District 4 was appointed vice president.

It’s customary for the Lee County board to rotate leadership positions annually, with the vice president moving up to president.

Robbie Ward