Adam Robison | Buy at
Chad McMahan, House District 6 winner, shakes hands with Grant Sowell of Tupelo Tuesday night at the MacMahan election party at the Holiday Inn Express in Tupelo.

Collins upended in Senate re-election bid

By Bobby Harrison Daily Journal Jackson Bureau TUPELO – Guntown Alderman Chad McMahan stunned Sen. Nancy Collins of Tupelo, a key member...

By Emma Crawford Daily Journal TUPELO – Republican incumbent Jimmy Weeks celebrated a more than 500-vote victory over opposing candidate Robert Smith in Tuesday’s Lee County Superintendent race among family and friends in Tupelo Tuesday night. “I’m very happy that the voters in Lee County saw fit to put me back in the superintendent’s position,” […]

By Michaela Gibson Morris Daily Journal TUPELO – Cattle broker Mike Smith was leading incumbent Lee County District 2 Supevisor Bobby Smith with one box still out at press time Tuesday night. Mike Smith had 1,545 votes to Bobby Smith’s 1,114 with unofficial returns in the Republican primary. The Saltillo precinct was still being tallied […]

By Michaela Gibson Morris Daily Journal TUPELO – Former prosecutor Arch Bullard of Corinth won the Democratic nomination for First District Attorney over assistant District Attorney Paul Gault. In unofficial returns with 130 of 166 precints reporting in seven counties as of press time, Bullard had 61 percent of the vote and Gault pulled 39 […]

By William Moore Daily Journal TUPELO – It’s good to be a sitting sheriff in Northeast Mississippi. All 14 incumbents either won their elections, advanced to a runoff or moved on to the general election. The sheriffs in Alcorn and Chickasaw counties did not seek re-election. In Alcorn County, Democrats David Derrick and Mike LaRue […]

By William Moore Daily Journal TUPELO – Camille Roberts Mangum swept the Republican primary for Lee County Circuit Clerk and should face Democrat Diane Lambert in the November general election. Democrat Sheila Stubbs pulled out of the primary but after the ballots were printed. There were signs at each voting precinct telling voters she was […]

By William Moore Daily Journal TUPELO – Joe Huckaby collected 55 percent of the vote to unseat District 1 Constable Scotty Clark. Huckaby swept the majority of the 17 precincts in the northeast corner of Lee County to edge Clark and political newcomer Randy Ellis. In the District 2 Constable race, incumbent Ted Wood raced […]

Daily Journal TUPELO – Incumbent Lee County tax collector Leroy Belk held off two challengers to win a sixth term. In unofficial totals for the Republican primary, Belk had 7,616 votes for 64 percent of the vote. Elise Robbins Hill came in second with 2,973 votes for 25 percent. Danny Mitchell had 1,333 votes and […]

By Emily Wagster Pettus Associated Press JACKSON – Mississippi Gov. Phil Bryant and Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves easily won Republican primaries Tuesday, each pushing aside one challenger. Bryant on Tuesday defeated Mitch Young, a Navy veteran from Sumrall, while Reeves defeated Alisha Nelson McElhenney, a teacher from Moss Point. Young and McElhenney ran low-budget campaigns […]

By Emily Wagster Pettus Associated Press JACKSON – Mississippi voters on Tuesday are choosing Democratic and Republican nominees for governor and lieutenant governor. Three other statewide races have Republican primaries only. They are for auditor, treasurer and insurance commissioner. Polls are open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., and voters are required to show a driver’s […]