MEMA: Storm victims can apply for disaster loans

By The Associated Press

PEARL — Mississippi Emergency Management Agency Director Mike Womack says victims of severe weather late last month will be eligible to apply for federal disaster loans.

Womack on Wednesday announced the disaster declaration by the U.S. Small Business Administration. He says the declaration is for Monroe and Oktibbeha counties and the nine contiguous counties of Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, Itawamba, Lee, Lowndes, Noxubee, Webster and Winston.

Womack says the areas were affected by the severe storms on Nov. 29-30.

Womack says in a news release a disaster outreach loan center will be located at the Becker Community Center in Amory. He says another loan center will be at the Courthouse Annex Building on Main Street in Starkville. Both centers open Friday.

Click video to hear audio