Miss. chief justice to honor 3

JACKSON — Mississippi Supreme Court Justice Jess H. Dickinson, Hinds County Chancery Judge Denise Owens and former Mississippi Bar President Joy Lambert Phillips will be will be honored with the 2010 Chief Justice Award.

Mississippi Supreme Court Chief Justice Bill Waller Jr. will present the awards July 10 at the conclusion of the Mississippi Bar Convention in Destin, Fla.

Waller says Dickinson, Owens and Lambert have worked to raise public awareness of the civil legal needs of the poor, encourage attorneys to represent poor people for free and develop ways to assist people who represent themselves in legal proceedings.

The Associated Press

Click video to hear audio