Miss. House OKs redistricting plan favoring GOP

By Bobby Harrison/NEMS Daily Journal

JACKSON – The House Republican majority Thursday pushed through its plan to redraw the chamber’s 122 districts by a 70-49 margin.

Democrats argued the plan would dilute black voter strength and reduce their numbers. House Apportionment and Elections Chair Bill Denny,
R-Jackson, said the plan complied with state and federal law.

The contentious issue was debated for about five hours.

An alternative proposed by Rep. Omeria Scott, D-Laurel, was defeated 66-54 on a near party line vote.

Republicans now hold a 64-58 margin in the chamber.

The plan approved Thursday creates an African American majority district in south Lee County.

The Senate is expected to take up its plan in the coming days.

Mississippi House roll call on redistricting

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — The Mississippi House, on a 70-49 vote Thursday, approved Joint Resolution 1 that would draw new electoral districts for House members.

A yes vote was a vote for the proposal, while a no vote was a vote against it.

Voting yes were 63 Republicans and 7 Democrats. Voting no were 49 Democrats. One Republican and one Democrat voted present. One Democrat did not vote.


Republicans voting yes (63)

Alday, Walls; Aldridge, Tupelo; Arnold, Booneville; Baker, Brandon; Barker, Hattiesburg; Barton, Moss Point; Beckett, Bruce; Bell, Fulton; Bennett, Long Beach; Bounds, Philadelphia;

Boyd, Mantachie; Chris Brown, Aberdeen; Busby, Pascagoula; Byrd, Petal; Carpenter, Burnsville; Chism, Columbus; Crawford, Pass Christian; Currie, Brookhaven; DeBar, Leakesville; DeLano, Biloxi;

Denny, Jackson; Eure, Biloxi; Formby, Picayune; Frierson, Poplarville; Gipson, Braxton; Guice, Ocean Springs; Gunn, Clinton; Hamilton, Olive Branch; Haney, Gulfport; Hood, Stewart;

Horne, Meridian; Howell, Kilmichael; M. Huddleston, Pontotoc; Jennings, Southaven; Ladner, Poplarville; Lamar, Senatobia; Lott, Sumrall; Martinson, Madison; Massengill, Hickory Flat; Mayo, Oxford;

McGee, Brandon; McLeod, Lucedale; Mettetal, Sardis; Mims, McComb; Monsour, Vicksburg; Moore, Brandon; Morgan, Morgantown; Nelson, Southaven; Pigott, Tylertown; Read, Gautier;

M. Rogers, New Albany; R. Rogers, Pearl; Rushing, Decatur; Shirley, Quitman; Shows, Ellisville; J. Smith, Columbus; Snowden, Meridian; Staples, Laurel; Turner, Baldwyn; Upshaw, Diamondhead;

Weathersby, Florence; Woods, Byhalia; Zuber, Ocean Springs.


Democrats voting yes (7)

Bain, Corinth; Patterson, Biloxi; Reynolds, Charleston; Steverson, Ripley; Sullivan, Okolona; Warren, Mount Olive; White, West.


Democrats voting no (49)

Bailey, Greenville; Banks, Jackson; Baria, Bay St. Louis; Barnes, Gulfport; Blackmon, Canton; Broomfield, Moss Point; Cecil Brown, Jackson; K. Buck, Holly Springs; K.C. Buck, Jackson; Burnett, Tunica;

Calhoun, Jackson; Clark, Pickens; Clarke, Jackson; Cockerham, Magnolia; L. Coleman, Mound Bayou; M. Coleman, Jackson; Dickson, Macon; Eaton, Taylorsville; Ellis, Starkville; Espy, Clarksdale;

B. Evans, Monticello; J. Evans, Jackson; M. Evans, Preston; Flaggs, Vicksburg; Gardner, Batesville; Gibbs, West Point; Harrison, Columbus; Hines, Greenville; Holland, Plantersville; Holloway, Hazlehurst;

Horan, Grenada; R. Huddleston, Sumner; Johnson, Natchez; Lane, Waynesboro; Malone, Carthage; Miles, Forest; Moak, Bogue Chitto; Myers, McComb; Oberhousen, Jackson; Perkins, Greenwood;

Scott, Laurel; F. Smith, Carthage; Straughter, Belzoni; Stringer, Montrose; Thomas, Indianola; Watson, Hattiesburg; Whittington, Schlater; Wooten, Jackson; Young, Meridian.


Republican voting present (1)

Taylor, Boyle.


Democrat voting present (1)

Middleton, Port Gibson


Democrat not voting (1)

Dixon, Raymond.

Click video to hear audio