Miss. swears in 7 of 8 statewide officials

By The Associated Press

JACKSON — Mississippi has inaugurated seven of its eight statewide elected officials — everyone except the new governor.

The state House chamber was packed Thursday for the swearing in of Tate Reeves as lieutenant governor, Jim Hood as attorney general, Delbert Hosemann as secretary of state, Lynn Fitch as treasurer, Stacey Pickering as auditor, Cindy Hyde-Smith as agriculture commissioner and Mike Chaney as insurance commissioner.

Hood is starting his third term and is the only Democrat. The others are Republicans.

Reeves, Fitch and Hyde-Smith are new to their jobs. Hosemann, Pickering and Chaney are beginning second terms.

Republican Gov.-elect Phil Bryant takes his oath of office at noon Tuesday.

Click video to hear audio