Mississippi House passes charter schools bill

By Jeff Amy/The Associated Press

JACKSON — Charter schools have cleared their most difficult remaining legislative hurdle in Mississippi.

House members voted 62-56 Tuesday with no debate to approve a House-Senate agreement on House Bill 369.

Charter schools — public schools that agree to meet certain standards in exchange for less regulation — would have to be nonprofit entities. So would management companies.

Monday, senators agreed to the exact bill the House passed in January. The Senate must still approve it and send it to Gov. Phil Bryant.

Boards in districts graded A, B and C would get vetoes over charter schools in their boundaries. Mississippi grades districts on an A-F scale. Students wouldn’t be allowed to cross district lines to attend a charter school in another district. That bar could impede charter schools in small districts.

Mississippi House roll call on charter schools

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — The Mississippi House of Representatives, on a 62-56 vote Tuesday, approved a House-Senate agreement on House Bill 369, which would expand charter schools in the state.

A yes vote was a vote for the proposal, while a no vote was a vote against it.

Voting yes were 57 Republicans and five Democrats. Voting no were six Republicans and 50 Democrats. One Republican was absent.


Republicans voting yes (57):

Alday, Walls; Aldridge, Tupelo; Arnold, Booneville; Baker, Brandon; Barker, Hattiesburg; Barton, Moss Point; Beckett, Bruce; Bennett, Long Beach; Bounds, Philadelphia; Boyd, Mantachie; Ch. Brown, Aberdeen; Busby, Pascagoula; Byrd, Petal; Carpenter, Burnsville; Chism, Columbus; Crawford, Pass Christian; Currie, Brookhaven; DeBar, Leakesville; DeLano, Biloxi; Denny, Jackson; Eure, Biloxi; Formby, Picayune; Frierson, Poplarville; Gipson, Braxton; Guice, Ocean Springs; Gunn, Clinton; Haney, Gulfport; Hood, Ackerman; Horne, Meridian; Howell, Kilmichael; M. Huddleston, Pontotoc; Kinkade, Byhalia; Ladner, Poplarville; Lamar, Senatobia; Lott, Sumrall; Martinson, Madison; Mayo, Oxford; McLeod, Lucedale; Mettetal, Sardis; Mims, Natchez; Monsour, Vicksburg; Moore, Brandon; Morgan, Morgantown; Pigott, Tylertown; Powell, Brandon; Read, Gautier; Rushing, Decatur; Shirley, Quitman; Shows, Ellisville; J. Smith, Columbus; Snowden, Meridian; Staples, Laurel; Taylor, Boyle; Turner, Baldwyn; Weathersby, Florence; White, West; Zuber, Ocean Springs.


Democrats voting yes (5):

Cockerham, Magnolia; Dixon, Jackson; Espy, Clarksdale; Malone, Carthage; Warren, Mount Olive.


Democrats voting no (50):

Bailey, Greenville; Bain, Corinth; Banks, Jackson; Baria, Bay St. Louis; Barnes, Gulfport; Blackmon, Canton; Broomfield, Moss Point; Ce. Brown, Jackson; K. Buck, Holly Springs; K. C. Buck, Jackson; Burnett, Tunica; Calhoun, Jackson; Clark, Pickens; Clarke, Jackson; L. Coleman, Mound Bayou; M. Coleman, Jackson; Dickson, Macon; Eaton, Taylorsville; Ellis, Starkville; B. Evans, Monticello; J. Evans, Jackson; M. Evans, Preston; Flaggs, Vicksburg; Harrison, Columbus; Hines, Greenville; Holland, Plantersville; Holloway, Hazlehurst; Horan, Grenada; R. Huddleston, Sumner; Johnson, Natchez; Lane, Waynesboro; Middleton, Port Gibson; Miles, Forest; Moak, Bogue Chitto; Myers, McComb; Oberhousen, Jackson; Patterson, Biloxi; Perkins, Greenwood; Reynolds, Water Valley; Scott, Laurel; F. Smith, Carthage; Steverson, Ripley; Straughter, Belzoni; Stringer, Montrose; Sullivan, Okolona; Thomas, Indianola; Watson, Hattiesburg; Whittington, Schlater; Wooten, Jackson; Young, Meridian.


Republicans voting no (6):

Bell, Fulton; Hamilton, Olive Branch; Jennings, Southaven; Massengill, Hickory Flat; Nelson, Southaven; M. Rogers, New Albany; R. Rogers, Pearl.


Republican Absent (1):

R. Rogers, Pearl.

Click video to hear audio