Monroe, Union counties designated for help

By NEMS Daily Journal

Two additional counties have been designated for Individual Assistance and five for all categories of Public Assistance as part of Mississippi’s federal disaster declaration, according to officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.
This announcement brings the total number of counties designated for Individual Assistance to seven with Saturday’s addition of Monroe and Union. Other counties previously designated for individual assistance after last weekend’s storms are: Attala, Choctaw, Holmes, Warren and Yazoo.
Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs.
Also, low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and businesses losses not fully compensated by insurance.