Nettleton High School senior Gabrielle D

Nettleton High School senior Gabrielle D. Coggin has been named as a STAR (Student-Teacher Achievement Recognition) Student for the 2008-2009 school year by the Mississippi Economic Council’s M.B. Swayze Educational Foundation, sponsor of the STAR program.
Coggin was honored during the 19th annual Education Celebration April 16 at the Jackson Convention Center in downtown Jackson. This prestigious event is co-sponsored by Entergy Mississippi, ATamp&T, Mississippi Power Company, BancorpSouth and Trustmark National Bank.
STAR Students are selected on the basis of academic excellence. Both American College Test scores and scholastic averages are compared to determine the school’s STAR Student, said Vickie Powell of Jackson, Vice President, Foundation Programs.
Each STAR Student is asked to designate a STAR Teacher, the classroom teacher who has made the greatest contribution to the student’s scholastic achievement.
Matthew T. Addison was designated STAR Teacher.
More than 500 STAR Students and STAR Teachers received recognition from MEC’s Swayze Foundation at the Celebration.
Mooreville High School
The following is the exam schedule:
n Senior exams: May 15 and May 18.
n Ninth- to 11th-grade exams: May 20 during first and second block and May 21 during first and second block.
n May 22: Make up day for exams.
School will be dismissed May 20-22 at 12:30 p.m.
There will be a spring football game at Smithville on May 15. Come out and support the 2009-2010 Troopers. Game time TBA. The Troopers will face two opponents that night in Jamboree.
Awards night will be 6 p.m. Tuesday, May 19, in the high school gym. Parents, please encourage those who receive notice of an award to attend. This is a special night to say job well done to these students. Seniors’ awards will be given first followed by all other grades. Seniors will be getting their caps and gowns on Friday, which is the last day for seniors if they are exempt from exams. Parents, please read all paperwork that is given out with the gowns.
The seniors are busy taking final exams this week as they spend their last days as high school students.
Last week, class rankings were announced. We are proud to name Abby Nichols as our valedictorian and Katie Parker as our salutatorian. Our other special distinction graduates are Jesse Penney, Shelbi McMillan, Anna Poppelreiter, Shelby Craig, Chelsi Smith, Emily Poppelrietier, Ruth Brown, Chase Robinson, Arlana McKinney, John Allen Brown, Laura Owen, Lindsey Bouchillon, Keymo Coleman, Blaine Watson, Garrett Doorenbos and Carrie Burch.
Our honor graduates are Josh Harden, Amanda Harkins, Dalton Floyd, Joseph Nichols, Olivia Frazier, Carrie Pannell, Sarah Sanders, Kristen Brooks, Jay Nelson, Jacque Baker, Chelsea Plunk, Lindsey Sweat, Devin Rose, Leah Hunter, Josh Fraser, Macolm Hilbert, Bo Boutwell, Taylor Ethridge, Leighton Wright and Audrey Mason.
The Champions for Children mentoring scholarship winners have been announced. Due to a withdrawal of corporate sponsorships, more than $100,000 in scholarship funds were lost this school year. Four SHS seniors were fortunate to receive $1,000 scholarships for their dedication to mentoring the youngsters of Saltillo. They are Abby Nichols, Carrie Burch, Joseph Nichols and Samantha Pepper. The mentoring sponsors are Mrs. Jenny Simmons and Mrs. Ginger Reynolds.


Bobby Pepper

Click video to hear audio