Northeast Mississippians fill slots on state boards, commissions

JACKSON – Johnny “Chip” Crane II of Fulton says he likes serving on a board that has the potential to help so many Mississippians.
Crane, president of the Fulton-based F.L. Crane and Sons, was renominated to the board for Community and Junior Colleges earlier this year by Gov. Haley Barbour and re-confirmed for the post by the state Senate during the recently completed 2010 legislative session.
“I enjoy being part of a system that has such an impact. The junior college system is really amazing in the number of people it educates – from people just out of high school to middle-age adults going back to school to learn new skills,” Crane said.
Crane, was originally appointed to the board by Barbour in 2004 and was reappointed this year for a six-year term. He served as vice chairman of the board in 2007.
Crane was among several Northeast Mississippians confirmed by the Senate during the 2010 session to boards and commissions that govern segments of state government.
Others are:
– Chandresh Kumar Patel of Oxford, nominated by Lt. Gov. Phil Bryant to a six-year term to the Mississippi Business Finance Corp.
– Rosemary Taylor Williams of Corinth, nominated by the Archives and History Board, to a five-year term on the Archives and History Board.
– John Stanley IV of Corinth, nominated by Barbour to a six-year term on the Commission for Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks.
– Adele Louise Crudden of Starkville, nominated by Barbour to a term for the rest of the fiscal year to the Mississippi Industries for the Blind.
– Ralph David Ritch of Tupelo, nominated by Barbour to the Board of Chiropractic Examiners for a term ending April 20, 2013.
– Hamp Smith of Tupelo, nominated by Barbour to the Board of Contractors for a term ending on June 30, 2013.
– Peggy Fowlkes Holmes of Amory, nominated by Barbour, to the Mississippi Authority for Educational Television Board for a term ending June 30, 2013.
– Michael Lynn O’Dell of Belden, nominated by Barbour, to a Hospital Equipment and Facilities Authority for a term ending June 30, 2012.
– Rodney Andrews Pearson of Starkville, nominated by Barbour, to the Information Technology Board for five-year term.
– Jeff Short of Tupelo, nominated by Barbour to Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board for a four-year term.
Several Barbour nominees were not confirmed by the 2010 Senate. Most of those were not confirmed because of a lack of time to do the customary background check that is done on all nominees who serve on the state’s governing boards and commissions.
Among those not confirmed were four Northeast Mississippians – Kelly Segars of Iuka and Ed Hill of Tupelo to the Board of Health; Mac McDivitt of Amory to the Board of Pharmacy and Rick Elam of Oxford to the Board of Public Accountancy.
Senate Public Health Chair Hob Bryan, D-Amory, said he did not get the nominations for Segars, Hill and McDivitt in time for staff to do the required backgrounds checks before the nominations were taken up by his committee. All three were re-appointments.
“I think they are fine folks,” Bryan said, adding he believes all three will be confirmed. He said whether the three can continue to serve without the confirmation depends on what the law is for each board.
That, most likely, is part of what the governor’s office is researching.
Dan Turner, a spokesman for Barbour, said the governor’s office is still researching what will be the final outcome of those not confirmed, but not rejected by the Senate because of objections to their nominations.
“We’re working on it,” Turner said. “We think we can reach some point of resolution.”

Bobby Harrison/NEMS Daily Journal

Click video to hear audio