Obama declares disaster in 14 Miss. counties

By The Associated Press

WASHINGTON — President Barack Obama on Wednesday signed a disaster declaration to cover flooding along the Mississippi River in Mississippi, paving the way for federal aid in 14 counties.

Officials said housing and home repairs will be covered and low-interest loans to cover uninsured damage will be available.

Eligible are residents of Adams, Bolivar, Claiborne, Coahoma, DeSoto, Humphreys, Issaquena, Jefferson, Sharkey, Tunica, Warren, Washington, Wilkinson and Yazoo counties.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency said damage surveys are still being conducted, and more counties could become eligible for aid.

Click video to hear audio