Ole Miss representatives to participate in chancellor interviews

OXFORD – Eight members of a campus advisory committee will join board members from the Institutions of Higher Learning later this month in interviewing candidates for the position of University of Mississippi chancellor.
The 23-person committee earlier this week recommended at least five candidates to be invited for interviews later this month to narrow the field to a single nominee.
That preferred candidate then will be publicly introduced and meet with various campus constituency groups before the full IHL board takes a final vote on his or her hiring.
Names of candidates are being kept secret to ensure that their current jobs aren’t jeopardized.
Members of the advisory committee who will participate in the interviews include Dr. Alice Clark, vice chancellor for research and sponsored programs; Yogini Bhavsar, past president of the Graduate Student Council; Graham Purcell, past president of the Associated Student Body; Dr. Donald Cole, assistant provost, assistant to the chancellor for multicultural affairs and associate professor of mathematics; Rose Jackson Flenorl, president of the Alumni Association; Shellie Harrison, president of the Staff Council; Dr. Timothy Nordstrom, associate professor of political science and director of the Social Science Research Laboratory; and Dr. Helen Turner, associate vice chancellor for academic affairs and professor of medicine at the University of Mississippi Medical Center.
They will join seven IHL trustees – Amy Whitten of Oxford, Dr. Stacy Davidson of Cleveland, Bob Owens of Jackson, Aubrey Patterson of Tupelo, Alan Perry of Jackson, Christine Pickering of Biloxi and Doug Rouse of Hattiesburg.


Errol Castens/NEMS Daily Journal

Click video to hear audio