Oxford-Lafayette library named 'literary landmark'

By The Associated Press

OXFORD — The Oxford-Lafayette County Library has been named a “literary landmark” by United for Libraries in honor of the late writer Larry Brown.

Laura Beth Walker, head librarian, tells the Oxford Eagle that a bronze plaque will soon be sent to the library that will briefly tell of Brown’s life as an author and his connection to the local library.

“We are very excited about this,” Walker said. “We will be a literary landmark because of his writing. We will have a big ceremony when we get it.”

The Literary Landmarks Association was founded in 1986 by former Friends of Libraries U.S.A. president Frederick G. Ruffner to encourage the dedication of historic literary sites. More than 120 Literary Landmarks have been dedicated across the country — including the home of Nobel Prize-winning author William Faulkner, Rowan Oak, in 1993.

Brown spoke at a re-opening ceremony in 1997 after the Oxford-Lafayette library underwent major renovations.

A winner of numerous awards, including the Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters award for fiction, the Lila Wallace-Reader’s Digest Award and Mississippi’s Governor’s Award For Excellence in the Arts, Brown was also the first two-time winner of the Southern Book Award for Fiction.

His notable works include “Dirty Work,” ”Father and Son,” ”Joe” and “Big Bad Love.”

Brown died in 2004 at the age of 53.

In 1999, Brown was chosen to be one of 10 recipients of the Lila Wallace Reader’s Digest Award and chose he Lafayette County & Oxford Public Library as the nonprofit organization to benefit from the three-year grant. He established the Larry Brown Writers Series that has brought authors such as Andre Dubus III, Mark Richard and Jill McCorkle to Oxford for public readings and writing workshops.


Information from: Oxford Eagle, http://www.oxfordeagle.com

Click video to hear audio