Parent of the Year for Tupelo Public School District: Joyner Elementary’s Jane Clair Shettles

By Riley Manning/NEMS Daily Journal

TUPELO – With so many parents who go above and beyond in getting involved with the school district, choosing the most outstanding parent may seem impossible.
However, Jane Clair Shettles won the honor Tuesday as Parent of the Year for the Tupelo Public School District.
“I’m shocked and honored,” she said. “My kids are just as surprised as I am.”
The staff of each school in the district chooses a parent nominee, then the final decision is made by an outside party. Their choice exemplifies parental involvement, showing through their own actions the values of love, kindness, sharing and thoughtfulness.
“I have four children in the district, so I really want to be involved,” she said. “As a former teacher, I love kids and being with students. It’s a pleasure to get involved at a school that has such wonderful teachers.”
Shettle was the representative from Joyner Elementary School. Kimberly Foster, principal at Joyner, said Shettle was one of a kind.
“She has a teaching background and really shows what it means to be a team player,” Foster said. “She has a passion for the kids and a real will for them to succeed.”
Foster said it’s inspiring as an administrator to have parents like Shettle who go the extra mile.
“Parents really change the dynamic of a school. We can’t reach out potential without their help,” Foster said. “They are the final piece of the puzzle.”
Shettle is one of the biggest supporters of Joyner’s Scholastic Book Fair, chair of the Christmas Star Project, and served as coordinator of the Taste of Joyner for many years.
As winner of the district’s parent of the year, Shettle will compete for the state title of Mississippi’s Parent of the Year.

PARENTS OF THE YEAR at individual Tupelo schools include: Ashley Jones (Carver Elementary), Shelly Farmer (Early Childhood Education
Center), Jane Claire Shettles (Joyner Elementary), Dawn Parker (Lawhon Elementary), Anne Britt (Lawndale Elementary), Mary Beth Cantrell (Milam Elementary), Rebecca Miller (Parkway Elementary), Joannie King (Pierce Street Elementary), Lee Ann Lesley (Rankin Elementary), Linda Holliday (Thomas Street Elementary), Lisa Brown (Tupelo Middle) and Tracy Hudson (Tupelo High).

Click video to hear audio