Pomeranz honored as SEC's top pitcher

HOOVER, Ala. – Ole Miss left-hander Drew Pomeranz was named pitcher of the year in the SEC, and two other area college baseball players were honored when the league announced its postseason awards Tuesday.
Ole Miss redshirt freshman Brett Huber made the All-SEC second team as a relief pitcher, and Mississippi State pitcher Chris Stratton, of Tupelo, made the all-freshman team.
Outfielder Hunter Morris, of SEC West champion Auburn, was named the player of the year, and Kevin O’Sullivan, who guided Florida to the overall championship, was named coach of the year.
Pomeranz, who was named the Ferriss Trophy winner Monday as Mississippi’s top college player, went 7-2 with a 2.38 earned run average in the regular season.
The junior from Collierville, Tenn., has been projected as the No. 2 overall pick in June’s Major League Baseball draft.
Pomeranz’s ERA was tops in the SEC among full-time starters. He also led the league in opponents’ batting average (.186) and strikeouts (127).
The next-closest in the strikeouts category were three pitchers, including teammate Aaron Barrett, with 92.
Pomeranz will pitch for the Rebels today in their SEC tournament opener against South Carolina.
Huber settled into the closer’s role for Ole Miss in the second half of the season. He finished with 10 saves and had just one blown SEC chance – last Thursday against Auburn.
The redshirt freshman from Belleville, Ill., finished the regular season 2-0 with a 2.72 ERA and 10 saves in 27 appearances over 43 innings.
Stratton, a right-hander, finished 5-3 with a 5.29 ERA in 14 appearances, all starts, over 781/3 innings.
He pitched seven innings and earned the win in the Bulldogs’ 2-1 victory over LSU Saturday. Stratton led SEC freshmen with 55 strikeouts against conference teams.

Parrish Alford

Click video to hear audio