PT: county lines?

PT: county lines?

ABERDEEN – The field is set in Aberdeen’s mayoral, Board of Aldermen and Democratic Executive Committee elections.

Primaries will be held April 2, with a runoff set for April 16, if needed. The general election is May 7.

Two Democrats and one Republican qualified for the mayoral race before the noon Saturday deadline.

The winner in the Democratic primary between William M. Tisdale and Fred T. Smith will face off against Republican R.W. “Bob” Seymour.

Current Mayor Don Brasfield announced his retirement on Feb. 5 and then entered the race for Ward 4 alderman about two weeks later. Brasfield is currently completing his first term as mayor.

In addition to Brasfield, Ward 4 voters can choose from incumbent James E. “Eddie” Arnold, Allie L. “Al” Clemons, Robert E. Hawkins and Dee Riley.

In the Ward 1 alderman race, incumbent Wilchie Clay will face off against Alonzo Sykes.

Ward 2 voters will choose between a field of four, with Tom Allmond, Cloyd E. Garth Sr., John Ray Hamilton and Felix D. West all qualifying. Incumbent Mary Elizabeth Hamilton, who has held the position for the past two terms, did not qualify.

Incumbent Ward 3 Alderman R.O. “Bob” Kelly will face challengers Willie A. Cook and Bob Patterson.

Incumbent Madies R. Conner, Edward Haynes Jr. and Kelly Tucker are vying for the Ward 5 post.

Democratic Executive Committee candidates are Preston Belle, Ruth Brasfield, Coy Flynn, Jeffery Navarro, Helen Price, Carolyn Sanders and Greg Smith. Unless a write-in candidate gets more votes than a qualifier, all seven qualifiers will sit on the committee.

Click video to hear audio