Reeves taps partisan mix to lead Senate committees

By Emily Wagster Pettus/The Associated Press

JACKSON — Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves has appointed fellow Republicans to lead the two money committees in the Mississippi Senate.

Eugene “Buck” Clarke of Hollandale will be chairman of the Senate Appropriations Committee.

Joey Fillingane of Sumrall will chair the Finance Committee.

Reeves announced his committee appointments Friday, a day after he was sworn in as presiding officer of the 52-member Senate.

He appointed a mix of Democrats and Republicans.

Republican Briggs Hopson of Vicksburg will chair the Judiciary A Committee, and Democrat Hob Bryan of Amory will chair Judiciary B.

Gray Tollison of Oxford, who switched from Democrat to Republican after he was re-elected in November, will chair the Education Committee.

Republican Dean Kirby of Pearl will chair the Public Health and Welfare Committee.


JACKSON – Flanked by Senators in the Capitol rotunda today, Lt. Governor Tate Reeves announced his committee chairmen.

“I am very proud of the leadership team we have assembled. It’s bi-partisan, inclusive, and represents all areas of the state,” Reeves said. “I am ready to get to work, and I have full confidence that there will be a cooperative spirit among these leaders to serve the citizens of Mississippi well.”

The following is a list of the Lt. Governor’s Committee’s listed in alphabetical order including the Chairman and Vice Chairman:

Accountability Efficiency and Transparency

· Nancy Collins Chairman

· J.P. Wilemon Vice Chairman

· Billy Hudson Chairman

· Russell Jolly Vice Chairman

· Buck Clarke Chairman

· Terry Burton Vice Chairman
Business and Financial Institutions

· Gary Jackson Chairman

· J.P. Wilemon Vice Chairman
Compilation, Revision and Publication

· Derrick Simmons Chairman

· Dean Kirby Vice Chairman

Congressional Redistricting

· Merle Flowers Chairman

· Chris McDaniel Vice Chairman

· Michael Watson Chairman

· Will Longwitz Vice Chairman

· Sampson Jackson Chairman

· Lydia Chassanoil Vice Chairman
County Affairs

· Nickey Browning Chairman

· Billy Hudson Vice Chairman
Drug Policy

· David Jordan Chairman

· Michael Watson Vice Chairman
Economic Development

· John Horn Chairman

· Steve Hale Vice Chairman

· Gray Tollison Chairman

· Nancy Collins Vice Chairman

· Chris McDaniel Chairman

· David Blount Vice Chairman

· Merle Flowers Chairman

· Giles Ward Vice Chairman
Enrolled Bills

· Alice Harden Chairman

· Kelvin Butler Vice Chairman

Environmental Protection Conservation and Water Resources

· Tommy Gollott Chairman

· Deborah Dawkins Vice Chairman

· Bennie Turner Chairman

· Gary Jackson Vice Chairman
Executive Contingent Fund

· Robert Jackson Chairman

· Gray Tollison Vice Chairman

· Joey Fillingane Chairman

· Merle Flowers Vice Chairman

· Melanie Sojourner Chairman

· Giles Ward Vice Chairman
Highways and Transportation

· Willie Simmons Chairman

· Perry Lee Vice Chairman

· Hillman Frazier Chairman

· Chris Massey Vice Chairman

· Videt Carmichael Chairman

· Rita Parks Vice Chairman
Interstate and Federal Co-op

· Kenny Wayne Jones Chairman

· Sampson Jackson Vice Chairman
Investigate State Offices

· Albert Butler Chairman

· Videt Carmichael Vice Chairman
Judiciary A

· Briggs Hopson Chairman

· Bennie Turner Vice Chairman
Judiciary B

· Hob Bryan Chairman

· Chris McDaniel Vice Chairman

· Kelvin Butler Chairman

· Robert Jackson Vice Chairman
Legislative Reapportionment and Congressional Redistricting

· Merle Flowers Chairman
Local and Private

· Perry Lee Chairman

· Tony Smith Vice Chairman

· J.P. Wilemon Chairman

· Bill Stone Vice Chairman
Ports and Marine Resources

· Brice Wiggins Chairman

· Vice Chairman

Public Health and Welfare

· Dean Kirby Chairman

· Hob Bryan Vice Chairman
Public Property

· David Blount Chairman

· Sally Doty Vice Chairman
State Library

· Deborah Dawkins Chairman

· Albert Butler Vice Chairman

· Lydia Chassanoil Chairman

· Sean Tindal Vice Chairman
Universities and Colleges

· Terry Burton Chairman

· John Polk Vice Chairman
Veterans and Military Affairs

· Haskins Montgomery Chairman

· Philip Moran Vice Chairman
Wildlife Fisheries and Parks

· Giles Ward Chairman

· Angela Hill Vice Chairman

(Analysis later by Daily Journal’s Bobby Harrison.)

Click video to hear audio