Runoff elections coming in 11 area cities

By Robbie Ward/NEMS Daily Journal

TUPELO – With primary runoff elections set for 11 municipalities in Northeast Mississippi, voters in the region can expect more campaigning for the next two weeks.
Voters will return to the polls on May 21 with races ranging from mayor to police chief at stake.
Runoff elections occur when no candidate in an election receives more than 50 percent of the vote, requiring the top candidates with the most votes to face off.
To vote in a primary election runoff, voters must have voted in the primary election for the same political party holding the runoff or not have voted at all in the primary.
Cities holding runoff elections in about two weeks will include Amory, Baldwyn, Booneville, Holly Springs, Nettleton, New Albany, Okolona, Pontotoc, Ripley, Shannon and West Point.
West Point will have at least one runoff election, but another could be possible. Late Wednesday, Democrat Gary Dedeaux was two votes shy of winning more than 50 percent against incumbent Jasper “Peicy” Pittman and Margaret Townsend Shelton.
Tupelo will not have any runoff elections.
Election officials encourage voters to continue to exercise their civic duty by continuing to participate in the democratic process on the local level.
“Even if it’s a runoff, you need to vote,” said Kizzy Johnson, Shannon city clerk. “It’s just as important as the primary.”
After runoff elections, candidates facing opponents running in other political parties and as independents will compete in the June 4 general election.

The following is a list of candidates in primary runoff elections on
May 21 in Northeast Mississippi.

D- Democrat
R – Republican
(i) – incumbent

• Brad J. Blalock, D
* Thomas Griffith, D
Alderman at large
• Sylvia Roberts Patterson, D
• Tyrone James, D

• Michael James, D, (i)
• Roslynn Clark Copeland, D
Police Chief
• Troy Agnew, D
• Don Rowan, D (i)
Alderman Ward 1
• Steve Scales, D
• Lee Bowdry, D

• Derrick Blythe, D
• Joe Eaton, D, (i)
Alderman Ward 1
• Lee Bethay, D
• Jason Michael, D
Alderman at large
• Mitch Barrett, D
• Harold Eaton, D, (i)

Alderman at large
• Johnnie Bagley-Johnson, D, (i)
• Tim Liddy, D
Alderman Ward 2
• Sharon D. Gipson, D
• Lennell (Big Luke) Lucas, D
Alderman Ward 4
• Christy Owens, D
• Harvey Payne, Sr., D, (i)

Alderman Ward 2
• Gail Senter, D, (i)
• GC Rhudy, D
Alderman Ward 3
• Iry L. Gladney, D
• Marty Langley, D

Alderman Ward 3
• Larry Dykes, D
• Kevin Dale White, D

Alderman Ward 4
• Imogene Armstrong, D, (i)
• Regina Pickens, D

Alderman at large
• David White, D
• Phyllis High, D

Alderman at large
• Shane Bourg, D
• Jon Grisham, D

• Ronnie Hallmark, D, (i)
• Willie Bob Gates, D
Alderman Ward 3
• James Oswalt, D
• Jack Ivy, D

Selectman Ward 3
• Jimmy Clark, D
• Charles B. Collins, D (i)

Click video to hear audio