Runoff in Miss. transportation race

By The Associated Press

JACKSON — Mike Tagert and John Caldwell Sr. were headed to a runoff for northern district transportation commissioner.

Unofficial returns from Tuesday’s election showed Caldwell, of Nesbit and transportation director for the DeSoto County School District, leading the seven-candidate filed. Tagert, of Starkville and president of the Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway Development Council, was second.

One precinct in Leflore County remained to be counted Wednesday.

The runoff election is Feb. 1.

The winner will fill the vacancy created when Transportation Commissioner Bill Minor of Holly Springs died Nov. 1.

John Caldwell 10,660 21%

Mike Tagert 10,373 21%

Warner McBride 9,983 20%

Dennis Grisham 8,494 17%

Joey Hood 6,302 12%

Ray Minor 3,857 8%

Larry Lee 748 1%

627 of 628 Precincts Reporting – 99%

Click video to hear audio