Runoffs: Bearden, Tillman, Jumper and Armour winners

By NEMS Daily Journal

Parker, Kinkade ahead in legislative runoffs

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — David Parker of Olive Branch and Bill Kinkade of Byhalia were leading their opponents in north Mississippi legislative runoff elections late Tuesday.

Parker, an optometrist from Olive Branch, was ahead of first-term state Rep. Pat Nelson of Southaven, 3,966 votes to 2,428 for a state senate seat from Desoto County, according to complete but unofficial results.

Kinkade is a Marshall County planning board member from Byhalia. He had a comfortable margin over contractor Jeremy Bryan of Barton. They were competing for a House seat from House District 52, which is located in parts of DeSoto and Marshall counties.

Kinkade was leading 1,346 votes to 874, according to complete but unofficial results.

All the candidates are Republicans, though the special elections to fill vacant seats are nonpartisan races.

Bill Bearden has won a runoff for the Alcorn County District 3 Election Commissioner position.

Race Totals
*Billy Bearden – 397

Jimmy Harwood, – 237

Romona Tillman of Pittsboro unofficial winner in the Calhoun County Chancery Clerk runoff election.

Race Totals
*Romona Tillman 2304

Susanne Wade 1040

Wayne Jumper has won the runoff race for South Tippah School Board Trustee District 3

Race Totals
*Wayne Jumper 275

Keith Clark 162

Virginia Armour won a runoff for District 3 Election Commissioner in Marshall County.

Race Totals
Virginia Armour 272
Clista Ash 222

Click video to hear audio