Saltillo, Oxford residents named to IHL board

By Bobby Harrison/NEMS Daily Journal

JACKSON – Saltillo’s Shane Hooper and Oxford’s Ford Dye were each appointed to nine-year terms on the state College Board by Gov. Phil Bryant on Friday.
Also appointed to the 12-member Institutions of Higher Learning Board on Friday were Karen Cummins of Southaven and Hal Parker of the Jackson area. Each of Bryant’s appointments will need to be confirmed by the Senate later this session.
Hooper, 42, is president of Success Learning Corporation Inc., a training provider for the insurance and financial services industry.
Dye is an Oxford physician.
The four appointments replace L. Stacy Davidson (Cleveland), Bettye Henderson Neely (Grenada), Scott Ross (West Point) and Amy Whitten (Oxford), whose terms expire in May.
The IHL board, also known as the College Board, oversees Mississippi’s eight public universities.
Hooper has a long record of community service in Tupelo and Lee County, serving as past president of the Tupelo Rotary Club, Gardner-Simmons Home for Girls and United Way of Northeast Mississippi. He has also been an executive board member for the Community Development Foundation.
Hooper is a graduate of Itawamba Agricultural High School and David Lipscomb University in Nashville, and he also served as an officer in the United States Marine Corps.
He and his wife, Katrina, have two sons, Christopher and Channing.
See or Saturday’s Daily Journal for more information.

Click video to hear audio