School begins today in Tupelo, Lee County

By Chris Kieffer/NEMS Daily Journal

TUPELO – The Tupelo school district’s focus on the start of its school year officially begins today.
This is the first day of classes for many Northeast Mississippi school districts, including Tupelo, Lee County, Baldwyn and Nettleton.
In Tupelo, efforts to improve discipline begin with the district’s new emphasis on the first 20 days of the year. Teachers will use that time to teach students about social skills and emphasize classroom rules and expectations. The idea is that establishing those expectations at the start will allow the rest of the year to flow more smoothly.
Today is also the first day for the merger of Carver and Church Street Elementary Schools. Kindergartners and first-graders who formerly attended those two schools will now all be housed at Carver. Second-graders will attend Lawhon, which will become a second- to fifth-grade school.
Baldwyn’s Ronnie Hill begins his first school year as superintendent, while Tupelo’s David Meadows begins his first year since becoming interim superintendent in April.
“I cannot tell you how much I have waited since April 15 for this very day, and especially for Thursday when our students arrive,” Meadows said on Tuesday during Tupelo’s Back to School meeting for its staff.
Tupelo’s schools will have eight principals in new places, while Baldwyn and Nettleton will each have two new principals and Lee County will have one.
Today will be the second day of school for Amory and Calhoun County students, who began the school year on Wednesday. They were the first Northeast Mississippi districts to begin the year.
Other districts to start today include Alcorn County, Chickasaw County, Lafayette County, Oxford, North Tippah, South Tippah and Tishomingo County.

Click video to hear audio