n Seven sheriff’s races from around
Northeast Mississippi still are undecided.


Daily Journal

Alcorn County’s sheriff since 1992, Jimmy Taylor appeared to go down hard in Tuesday’s runoff election.

In unofficial tallies, with 1,000 absentee ballots yet to be counted, Taylor was trailing with 43 percent to Charles Rinehart’s 57 percent.

Alcorn was one of three counties in Northeast Mississippi electing sheriffs Tuesday.

The other unofficial results, some with absentee ballots still to be counted:

n Itawamba County – Chris Dickinson beat Leon Haynes. Incumbent Phillip Crane lost his re-election bid Aug. 7.

n Oktibbeha County – Incumbent Dolph Bryan won re-election. Bryan has been sheriff since 1976.

Tuesday’s elections were the second primary or runoff to the Aug. 7 party elections. The candidates in Tuesday’s contests were the top two vote-getters Aug. 7. Some must continue to campaign because they have opponents in the Nov. 6 general election.

In Lee County, incumbent sheriff Jim Johnson won the Democratic nomination Aug. 7. He will face Republican Sam Piraino and independents Marty Rock and Randy White in November.

Counties whose sheriff was decided in the Aug. 7 primary are Benton, Chickasaw, Clay, Lafayette, Marshall and Union.

Democratic nominees heading for the November face-off are:

n Calhoun County – Incumbent Billy Mac Gore. Gore faces Republican Al Mullins and independent Carey C. Crow.

n Monroe County – Cecil Cantrell. He will meet Republican Bobby Edwards.

n Tippah County – Karl Gaillard. He will face Republican John Bates and independent Jerrell Lewellen in the general election.

n Tishomingo County – Incumbent Glenn Whitlock. He faces independent Donna Wise and Republican James Skinner.

Other counties with November decisions are Pontotoc and Prentiss. Their party nominees were decided Aug. 7.

Contact Daily Journal news editor Patsy R. Brumfield at 678-1596 or

Click video to hear audio