Some mayoral office-seekers slow to file papers

By Lena Mitchell/NEMS Daily Journal Corinth Bureau

Several incumbents have expressed interest in filling mayoral offices in Alcorn, Prentiss and Tishomingo counties, but few have filed qualifying papers.
Alcorn County towns except Corinth will hold municipal elections this year. Corinth operates under a special charter and next holds elections in 2014. Farmington Mayor Dale Fortenberry, Glen Mayor John Little, Kossuth Mayor Donald Pace and Rienzi Mayor Walter Williams all will seek office again.
Prentiss County’s county seat, Booneville, has several candidates who have filed, including incumbent Mayor Joe Eaton. Other candidates include Republican Lindell “Lin” Floyd and Democrat Derrick Blythe. Longtime Jumpertown Mayor Trent Moore has said he will not seek re-election, and as of Friday no one has submitted papers to run for the mayor’s office. In other Prentiss County towns, Mayor Judy Ramey of Marietta and Baldwyn Mayor Michael James will run for office again.
In Tishomingo County, Iuka Mayor Jackie Bryant said he will run for a fourth term, and information was not available late Friday as to whether anyone else had filed to run for the office. Belmont Mayor Buddy Wiltshire, Burnsville Mayor David Nixon, Tishomingo Mayor James Tennyson, Golden Mayor David Ginn and Paden Mayor Pam Oswalt all have indicated they will run for office again.

Click video to hear audio