Three House special elections Nov. 5

By Bobby Harrison
Daily Journal Jackson Bureau

JACKSON – Special elections will be held Nov. 5 to fill three vacant House seats, including District 5, which consists of most of Marshall and a portion of northwestern Benton County.
Gov. Phil Bryant set the special elections Monday afternoon to fill vacancies created when the incumbents won mayoral elections earlier this year.

Kelvin Buck, who was in his third term in the House representing District 5, was elected mayor of Holly Springs. District 110 incumbent Billy Broomfield, who was elected in 1991, was elected mayor of Moss Point, while District 55 incumbent George Flaggs, who was in his seventh term, was elected mayor of Vicksburg.

All three resigned from the House on or around June 30.

The governor had 30 days from the time the posts became vacant to set the special election. And the date of the election has to be at least 40 days after the governor issued the writ for the election. The qualifying deadline is 30 days before the election date.

In Bryant’s order, the qualifying deadline will be Oct. 7.

Democrats held each post and will be favored to maintain control in the special elections. Technically, though, legislative special elections are nonpartisan, meaning candidates do not run in party primary elections.

The candidate winning a majority of the vote will win the special election. If no candidate wins a majority on Nov. 5, the top two vote-getters will advance to a Nov. 26 runoff.

Click video to hear audio