Transportation, House post on Tuesday ballot

By The Associated Press

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — Voters in north Mississippi will cast ballots Tuesday in a special election runoff for northern district transportation commissioner.

Meanwhile, voters in Harrison County will decide the runoff for a Mississippi House post.

Polls will open at 7 a.m. Tuesday and close at 7 p.m.

More than 51,000 voters came out Jan. 11 in the special election for the post the seat left vacant on the Mississippi Transportation Commission by the October death of Bill Minor of Holly Springs.

The three-member Mississippi Transportation Commission oversees one of the largest agencies in state government, with responsibility over highways, bridges, ports and airports.

In the Transportation Commission contest, John Caldwell Sr. of Nesbit and Mike Tagert of Starkville will face off after leading a seven-man special election field.

The winner will serve until a four-year term begins in January. Each has said he will seek that job, if he wins Tuesday.

Caldwell is transportation director for the DeSoto County School District. Tagert is president of the Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway Development Council.

Tagert has campaigned on economic development and transportation.

Voters “want to see agencies working together for the greater good,” he said.

Caldwell, who lost the election in Minor in 2007, has said he wants to get the Department of Transportation “re-energized and return to working for the people.”

“We all have the same concerns” for good transportation, Caldwell said.

Harrison County voters in state House District 116 will pick a replacement for Steven Palazzo, who was elected to Congress in November.

Voters will choose between Jim Atchison and Casey Eure.

Atchison owns of a Biloxi real estate company and Eure is a Biloxi business owner.

The winner will serve nearly the final year of a four-year term.

Click video to hear audio